Photography

through nikon D3200

I started to enjoy more

with 6 comments

I always knew I had stamina to walk. I simply love the idea of stray walking.

One day I decided to walk from Shivajinagar to my place of stay. It was around 6 km. the whole journey took me around one hour and forty five minutes. The very next minute, I knew, an inch walk will put me with my face kissing the ground. I was tired. Had breakfast and slept for three hours. But something was itching in my mind. Surely the thought was not regarding the self proven increased stamina but it was something else, something hidden in one corner of my mind.

Following weekend, I planned to repeat my previous feat once again but on a more unplanned note, with “NOTHING” set in mind regarding “the distance to be covered” or “the time it will take” to finish the task, I set out to explore the unexplored side of Pune.

The journey began from Shivajinagar at 9 early morning. The road I took headed straight to LANDMARK and so does my feet.

While I was walking, I came across speeding cars and busy roads inadequate to add another human to its cradle. On another side, there were kids playing in the ground. Came across roadside vendor selling coconut water, so, decided to replenish the water in my body evaporated thanks to the sun blaze. Tuned in my favorite song on the mp3 player and with my mobile in pocket (incase I felt like speaking to my husband), I kick off my journey again.

There was an unusual smile on my face, either due to the weird look strangers gave me during my movement or maybe it was the “feel good factor” I had for testifying the stamina within me once again.

With no apprehensions or haunting thoughts about the remaining distance, I just kept moving faster and steadier. Finally I reached LANDMARK before noon. Without any time restraints, I decided to hit the books section. I love reading books and Magazines especially the ones on Photography and Movies.

I left from there with 2 books in my kitty. I headed towards Camp Street. I love to come here for window shopping. Watched the street get busier every second of life. And yes, now it was the right time to munch a burger @ Mc Ds. I was energized once again, although I never felt tired.

I entered the Parsi lane in Camp area for the very first time in my life. I came across stunning Bungalows, small houses with luxury cars in parking areas.

Now it was time to hit back the journey I started but had no clue how to reach Swargate from here. Asked few on goers for the route and by this time, exertion had started to creep in. So, I had few glasses of lemonade.

As I was in Deccan, I came across a Museum of β€˜Raja Dinkar Kelkar’ on Tilak road. I longed for seeing this place since ages. As I entered inside the museum, it was already 3.

The museum has an immortal collection of thousands of household to war equipments. And surprisingly, only 2,500 things were on display out of 20,000 items the legend collected from various parts of India in his 64 years of life span. Bizarre isn’t it?

Tilak road in old Pune city was at its best that day with the heaviest of the traffic.

It took me not more than an hour to see the entire museum. Tea was on my menu as the next food item. I had cut dosa with tea from “Amrutyla” and the combination was amazing.

I believe I am a wandering soul who loves to observe people.

There was an advertisement about some ongoing exhibition nearby. A short visit but was worth it. The exhibitors were from Gujarat with a good collection of suits, dresses and shawls on display.

One of the jewellers stall grabbed my eyes. I decided to buy few for me and my sisters.

6pm and I was back to square one, I was in Deccan corner. I took a bus running straight back to my place.

It was a long but eventful day, I enjoyed thoroughly.

Had nice dinner my sisters prepared for all.

As I hit the bed, my feet were cursing me for the long walk I had today. As I calculated, I approximately walked for around 12 kilometers.

But it was worth it. Worth sharing as well.

With more to explore and observe, sooner than later, planning to follow the same act with my hubby by my side one day.

P.S. – I would like to thank my husband Rahul for taking out time and reviewing, editing my concept πŸ™‚

Written by savita

March 22, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Posted in Personal

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wow…this is nice, it reminds how even I enjoy such things πŸ™‚ and the way we shared our walks in college daya (that was due to money problem though!)
    …& may be when you go on exploring it with Rahul, you might enjoy the way Jesse and Celena enjoyed it in ‘Before Sunrise’ :)….enjoy!!!

    veena

    March 22, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    • Thank you πŸ™‚

      true… from movie theater till our hostel… we used to walk… But it was fun… πŸ™‚
      I should watch ‘Before Sunrise’ πŸ˜‰

      savita

      March 23, 2011 at 4:05 am

  2. Excellent post Savi,

    While reading this post, We travelled along with you on this exhaustive yet satisfying journey.

    Really good read…:)

    Shakechilly

    March 23, 2011 at 1:00 am

    • Ohhh hoo…. really.. thanks a lot Sheki πŸ™‚

      savita

      March 23, 2011 at 4:06 am

  3. Hmmmmmm….nice one savita…….U guys can come over for dinner one day afterr u r lonngggg walkss…..rahul ke liye I ll prepare double the quantity…..[;)]

    Meghana

    March 24, 2011 at 11:30 pm

    • Hi Meghana πŸ™‚

      chalega… aur mere liye bhi honga na khana …hehhehe πŸ™‚

      savita

      March 25, 2011 at 12:24 am


Comments

